Book Review: The Girl with No Past by Kathryn Croft *****

UK Publishing Date: 15 Oct 2015. 300 pages.

The publishers blurb for this book says that it is a “gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train” and while that might be true to an extent, I think that I actually preferred this book to either of those.

Leah Mills keeps herself to herself. She lives in a tiny flat in London surrounded by her books. Her job as a Library Assistant just about pays the bills but it is one that she is hugely over qualified for. Her Mum lives in Watford but they have a strained relationship. Deliberately keeping herself aloof from her colleagues Leah has no real friends to speak of and spends her spare time volunteering at an old folk’s care home. After encouragement from Maria at work Leah starts lurking on a dating website where she meets Julian. He is a moderator on the site and easy to talk to. Life suddenly has a little more colour.

This book intersperses Leah’s current life with her past. These schooldays chapters build up to the event that happened when Leah was just 16. In the current chapters you have no idea why Leah spends her days punishing herself or why she chooses to watch life from the side-lines.

On the fourteenth anniversary of the as yet unknown “terrible thing” Leah receives an anniversary card at home in her flat. Not threatening as such but anonymous and slightly creepy. Someone else knows her secret.This is the start of the terror campaign as Leah starts to analyse all of her relationships to work out where these threats and barbs are coming from.

The Girl with no Past is a fast paced, gripping thriller with proper rollercoaster style twists and turns. I was convinced I had worked out both what the secret from the past was and who was terrorising her and I was wrong on both counts. It is one of those books that will keep you up till all hours as you try to work out what is going on. I hadn’t read any of Kathryn Croft’s books before this but I’ll definitely be adding them to my reading list if they are as absorbing as this one.

Supplied by Net Galley and the Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

You can find the book here:
The Girl With No Past: A gripping psychological thriller

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s