Menu Home

Book Review: Little Boy Blue – M J Arlidge ****

Little Boy Blue is the fifth book in the DI Helen Grace series by M J Arlidge. This can be read as a standalone story but you will get much more out of it if you have read the earlier novels. It will come as no surprise to fans of the series that the author has been a contributor on prime time crime serial Silent Witness.
Helen is a dark and complicated character with a significant back story. She is a really fresh and interesting female lead in a crime series.

The book opens with a gruesome murder in a BDSM club in Southampton. Right from the start you get drawn into the darkness of the scene and the seediness of some of the people involved. The world of the sexual fetishist is suddenly open to scrutiny.

As the investigation progresses it becomes obvious that Helen’s secret and her own BDSM past will be impossible to keep under wraps.

Frustratingly the book ends with a real cliff hanger that will leave you scrabbling for more pages to try and find out what happened. Luckily the next book is due later this year. Not too long to wait!

Supplied by Net Galley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Little Boy Blue: DI Helen Grace 5 (Detective Inspector Helen Grace)

Categories: 4 Stars Book Review

Tagged as:


Prolific reader, enthusiastic theatre and movie-goer and ex-Olivier Awards judge who spent twenty years working in the music industry in London. Sharing my house with a gorgeous cockapoo called Harry who has taken over completely.
I love sharing my favourite books with friends - nearly always spoiler-free as I hate reading a synopsis of the whole book in other reviews.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: